Monica's
Story
MHE and Me
Hi, my name is Monica.  I live in Memphis, TN with my mom, my dad and my 5-year-old brother, Alex (he is so hyper!).  My dad and I both have MHE.

Three weeks ago I had my second surgery. A tumor was removed from my right arm and an external fixator was inserted. We have to turn a piece on the fixator four time a day with a small tool to lengthen the bone.  Sometimes it
really hurts.  Two years ago I had the same surgery on the left arm. It helps to know what to expect, but I'll be glad when this is over. Although, with all of my bumpy bones I know I'll have many more surgeries in the future.

Even though I have MHE, I am just a regular kid; I have a fun and active life. I enjoy taking care of animals, going camping, going to the beach, making pottery, spending time with my friends, and visiting my family in California.

I have so many pets at home. I have two dogs, Zues and Bear, two cats, Zoe and Clover, a rabbit, two tadpoles, and three hermit crabs. I would like to get a bird because I am very good wtih birds, but Mom says, "No, we have too many animals!"

I am glad my mom found this support group. I don't know any other kids who have MHE. In fact my dad is the only other person that I know who has it. It made me feel better to read the letters from kids in "The Bumpy Bone Club," because I didn't think anyone else felt the same as me. It was great to hear that there are other people like me. I hope my letter makes people feel better, too!
Monica would love to hear from other kids with MHE!  You can write to Monica
care of
mheandme@yahoo.com. Please put "Email for Monica" in the subject line.