Reanna's Story

Hi. This is Reanna. I'm 9 years old. I live in Canada.I am going into Grade 5. I turn 10 on December 4. My favorite animal is the cheetah. They are so cute! When I grow up I'll be a geologist. I like to study rocks.

I have a nice family. There are 7 people in it. My Mom and Dad, and I have 3 stepsisters and a brother-in-law. My Mom's name is Rita. My Dad's name is Darcy. My dad has MHE as well, that's how I got it. My stepsisters names are Kristen, Amy, and Jodie. My brother-in-law's name is Joe. I have two cats and a dog. The cats' names are Simba and Oliver. The dog's name is Mandie.

I like to go fishing, and ride my bike and play on the computer. I really enjoy school.

My Grandma and my uncles Eddie and Wayne and Aunt Lynda all have MHE and so do 5 of my cousins.  My Aunt Fran and Uncle Marvin don't have MHE.

I was diagnosed with MHE when I was 3 months old when my parents took me to Sick Children's Hospital in Toronto. I had my first surgery when I was 3 years old. I had bumps removed from both my arms and I had casts on both of them. I had to ask my Mommy to scratch my nose for me whenever it itched! So far I have had 10 surgeries. Two on one leg and one of the next leg, six on one arm, one on the other.  I have also had dental surgery when I was two. On March 27, 2000, I had a metal frame put on my right arm. I had it done to fix the bone. It needed to be longer and straighter. They put 4 pins going to the bone of my arm. It hurts a little bit each day. It hurts a lot when I bang it. My arm has now gotten one and a half inches longer, and it is now straight!

Bye for now,

Reanna

You can email Reanna
at
dwolfe@home.com

To the
MHE and Me Site Map